Texts

 

 

The Tiefgarten

From the visit to the New National Gallery Berlin, and the preservation and restoration whose criteria are shifting.
To the article (PDF)     (Original version)

A comment by Imke Woelk in bauwelt 09.21. Here, she draws her own astonishing summary of the restoration work that has been done, based on an exemplary examination of one detail of this prominent building. 
April 2021

 

The Tempelhofer Feld as a nature reserve

A conversation with architect Imke Woelk about climate protection, ecological building and a future city on the A24 Hamburg-Berlin highway.
To the interview (PDF)

Interview in the Berliner Zeitung on the occasion of the exhibition ‘Human Scale Remeasured – New spatial requirements, societal demands and economic values in architecture’ at Aedes Architecture Forum Berlin. The conversation was conducted by Elena Matera.
February 2021

 

And no one is asking: Do you even want that?

Why is urban redensification so complicated? How can resources and green spaces be conserved? Why is architecture not part of the educational program? A conversation with the architect Imke Woelk about necessary changes and her visionary concept for urban growth corridors within natural spaces.
Read the whole interview (PDF)

Interview by Tom Mustroph in taz. die tageszeitung.  To mark the presentation of 15 projects by international architects and planners on environmental sustainability, social justice and economic feasibility at Galerie Aedes, Berlin.
January 2021

Letter to the Mayor, Berlin

What would it be like to initiate a project that brings together a variety of the questions that need to be solved in this city in a project on Tempelhofer Feld and that works in a very concrete way to build a resilient city?
The entire letter (PDF)

Open letter to the Governing Mayor of Berlin in the context of the global project ‘Letters to the Mayor’. Storefront for Art and Architecture, New York and German Center for Architecture (DAZ) Berlin
November 2019

 

Architecture Can Act as a Resonance Chamber

What if every spatial response was driven by a new consciousness that aims for sustainability and humanity? Not through representation, but through the mediation of togetherness, architecture can have an impact on.
The complete statement (PDF)

Jury Statement, in: Czech Architecture Award 2019, edited by the Czech Chamber of Architects, Prague
October 2019

 

Berlin Common Archipelagos

‘Berlin – Common Archipelagos’ is a response to the contemporary discussion on the relationship between the city and the environment by building ‘urban landscapes’. It offers alternative hybrid spaces of urban density, adaptable large-scale structures embedded in geological formations in nature.
The whole contribution (PDF)

in: Learning from Berlin – The large-scale structure as urban generator, edited by Roger Riewe, Sorana-Cornelia Radulescu and Armin Stocker, TU Graz
May 2019

 

A Different Nature

On architecture, its ability to represent and the questionable relationship between humans and animals. A text on the re-use of the Bärenzwinger (bear pit) in Berlin.
The complete text (PDF)

in: Bärenzwinger Berlin – Trace, Architecture, Projections, edited by District Office Berlin-Mitte, Department of Art and Culture, Dr. Ute Müller-Tischler
March 2019

 

Garden Home – Potential for Inner-City Redensification
A transformation of existing allotment garden colonies activates urban resources. In the most spatially reduced form, living and working in one’s own house with garden becomes possible. The result is a supplement and green alternative to the existing residential typologies of the Berlin metropolis.
The complete contribution in the book Rurbane Landschaften by Transcript Verlag (PDF)

in: Rurbane Landschaften (“Rurban” landscapes), perspectives of the rural in an urbanized world, edited by Sigrun Langner and Maria Frölich-Kulik, Rurale Topografien, Ed. 7, Weimar (Transcript Verlag)
November 2018

 

Specific Practical Value of a Universal Space (Arch+ Feature 70)

Imke Woelk wrote a dissertation on exhibiting art in the glass hall of the New National Gallery in Berlin. Here she explains why Ludwig Mies van der Rohe created a democratic, threshold-free space for it.
The entire Arch+ Feature (PDF)

Arch+ Feature 70, in: ARCH+ 230: Project Bauhaus 2: Architectures of globalization, edited by: Nikolaus Kuhnert, Anh-Linh Ngo, Günther Uhlig, Berlin
December 2017

 

Garden Home – The Potential of Allotments for Redensifying the Inner City (Arch+ 225)

How can residential space for 50,000 households in the immediate proximity of Berlin’s city center be created by just a small change in the law? “Garden home” shows how the enormous potential of allotment colonies can be developed without destroying their small-scale structure. All that is needed is a change in the mindset of the new residents.
The whole article in Arch+ 225 (PDF)

in: ARCH+ 225: Legislating Architecture – Gesetze gestalten!, edited by: Arno Brandlhuber, Tobias Hönig, Anh-Linh Ngo, Nikolaus Kuhnert, Berlin
June 2016

 

Why Drawings?

Imke Woelk on drawing as a tool of understanding, ordering and spatial mapping. The text accompanies the exhibition catalog of the series “Katsuras Räume” (Katsura Spaces), in which she elaborates on the different levels of openness of the Japanese Villa Katsura, a building ensemble with accompanying gardens from the 16th century.
The entire text (PDF)

in: Imke Woelk, Katsuras Räume – Drawings, Edited by Peter Dittmar, Berlin
June 2011

Texte

 

 

Das Tempelhofer Feld als Naturreservat

Ein Gespräch mit der Architektin Imke Woelk über Klimaschutz, ökologisches Bauen und eine Zukunftsstadt an der Autobahn A24 Hamburg-Berlin.
Zum Interview (PDF)

Interview in der Berliner Zeitung anlässlich der Ausstellung ‚Human Scale Remeasured – Neue Maßstäbe für eine Architektur des räumlichen, wirtschaftlichen und ökologischen Zusammenlebens‘ im Aedes Architecture Forum Berlin. Das Gespräch führte Elena Matera.
Februar 2021

 

Und niemand fragt: Wollt ihr das überhaupt?

Warum ist Nachverdichtung in der Stadt so kompliziert? Wie kann man Ressourcen und Grünräume schonen? Warum fehlt Architektur im Bildungskanon? Ein Gespräch mit der Architektin Imke Woelk über notwendige Veränderungen und ihr visionäres Konzept für urbane Wachstumskorridore innerhalb von Naturräumen.
Das ganze Gespräch (PDF)

Interview von Tom Mustroph in der taz. die tageszeitung.  Aus Anlass der Präsentation von 15 Projekten internationaler Architekten und Planer zu ökologischer Nachhaltigkeit, sozialer Gerechtigkeit und wirtschaftlicher Machbarkeit in der Galerie Aedes, Berlin.
Januar 2021

 

Letter to the Mayor, Berlin

Wie wäre es, ein Vorhaben zu initiierten, das eine Vielzahl der zu lösenden Fragen dieser Stadt in einem Projekt auf dem Tempelhofer Feld zusammenfasst und das auf sehr konkrete Weise an dem Aufbau einer widerstandsfähigen Stadt arbeitet?
Der ganze Brief (PDF)

Offener Brief an den Regierenden Bürgermeister von Berlin im Rahmen des globalen Projekts ‚Letters to the Mayor‘. Storefront for Art and Architecture, New York und Deutsches Architekturzentrum (DAZ) Berlin
November 2019

 

Architektur als Resonanzkammer

Was wäre, wenn jede räumliche Antwort von einem neuen Bewusstsein angetrieben würde, das auf Nachhaltigkeit und Menschlichkeit abzielt? Nicht durch Repräsentation, sondern durch die Vermittlung von Zusammengehörigkeit kann Architektur auf gesellschaftliche Prozesse einwirken und die Menschen befähigen, mit der Welt verantwortungsvoll und sorgsam umzugehen.
Das komplette Statement (PDF)

Jury Statement, in: Czech Architecture Award 2019, Hrsg. von der Tschechischen Architektenkammer Prag
Oktober 2019

 

Berlin Common Archipelagos

Das Gedankenmodell ‚Berlin – Common Archipelagos‘ antwortet auf die zeitgenössische Diskussion zur Beziehung zwischen Stadt und Umwelt mit dem Aufbau von ‚urbanen Landschaften‘. Angeboten werden alternative Hybridräume städtischer Dichte, adaptierbare Großstrukturen, die in geologischen Formationen in die Natur eingebettet sind.
Der ganze Beitrag (PDF)

in: Learning from Berlin – Die Großstruktur als urbaner Generator, Hrsg. von Roger Riewe, Sorana-Cornelia Radulescu und Armin Stocker, TU Graz
Mai 2019

 

Eine andere Natur

Über Architektur, deren Befähigung zur Repräsentation und das fragwürdige Verhältnis von uns Menschen zum Tier. Ein Text zur Nachnutzung des Bärenzwingers in Berlin.
Der ganze Text (PDF)

in: Bärenzwinger Berlin – Spuren, Architekturen, Projektionen, Hrsg. von Bezirksamt Mitte von Berlin, Fachbereich Kunst und Kultur, Dr. Ute Müller-Tischler
März 2019

 

Gartenheim – Potential innerstädtischer Nachverdichtung

Eine Transformation vorhandener Kleingarten-Kolonien aktiviert stadträumliche Ressourcen. In räumlich reduziertester Form wird Leben und Arbeiten im eigenen Haus mit Garten möglich. Es entsteht eine Ergänzung und grüne Alternative zu den vorhandenen Wohntypologien der Berliner Großstadt.
Der komplette Beitrag im Band Rurbane Landschaften des Transcript Verlags (PDF)

in: Rurbane Landschaften, Perspektiven des Ruralen in einer urbanisierten Welt, Hrsg. Sigrun Langner und Maria Frölich-Kulik, Rurale Topografien, Band 7, Weimar (Transcript Verlag)
November 2018

 

Spezifischer Gebrauchswert eines universellen Raums (Arch+ Feature 70)

Imke Woelk hat eine Dissertation über das Ausstellen von Kunst in der verglasten Halle der Neuen Nationalgalerie Berlin geschrieben. Hier erklärt sie, warum Ludwig Mies van der Rohe dafür einen demokratischen, schwellenlosen Raum geschaffen hat.
Das ganze Arch+ Feature (PDF)

Arch+ Feature 70, in: ARCH+ 230: Projekt Bauhaus 2: Architekturen der Globalisierung, Hrsg. von: Nikolaus Kuhnert, Anh-Linh Ngo, Günther Uhlig, Berlin
Dezember 2017

 

Gartenheim – Nachverdichtung von Kleingärten (Arch+ 225)

Wie kann durch nur eine kleine Gesetzesänderungen Wohnraum für 50.000 Haushalte in unmittelbarer Nähe des Berliner Stadtzentrums geschaffen werden? „Gartenheim“ zeigt, wie sich das enorme Potential von Laubenkolonien erschließen lässt, ohne deren kleinteilige Struktur zu zerstören. Notwendig ist lediglich ein Umdenken bei den neuen Bewohnern.
Der ganze Artikel in der Arch+ 225 (PDF)

in: ARCH+ 225: Legislating Architecture – Gesetze gestalten!
Hrsg. von: Arno Brandlhuber, Tobias Hönig, Anh-Linh Ngo, Nikolaus Kuhnert, Berlin
Juni 2016

 

Warum Zeichnungen?

Imke Woelk über Zeichnung als Mittel der Erkenntnis, des Ordnens und der räumlichen Kartierung. Begleittext im Ausstellungskatalog zur Serie „Katsuras Räume“, in welchem sie die unterschiedlichen Offenheitsniveaus der japanischen Villa Katsura aus dem 16. Jahrhundert, einem Gebäudeensemble mit dazugehörigen Gärten, herausarbeitet.
Der gesamte Text (PDF)

in: Imke Woelk, Katsuras Räume – Zeichnungen, Hrsg. von Peter Dittmar, Berlin
Juni 2011