New National Gallery Berlin, Extension M20

Urban landscape, scenographic place, public space

PROJECT DATA

MZB-01a
left: Hans Scharoun, model of the “Kulturforum”, view from the north, 1957
right: Alexandra Kehayoglou „Pastizal“, 2014

In Berlin – unlike in any other European city – has appeared construction and destruction, abandoning of space, no man’s land and the appropriation of the city by nature. Where, if not here, could the urban landscape, conceived by Scharoun, be developed further?

 

MZB-03
View from the Philharmonie

The space between Potsdamer Straße, St. Matthew Church, Kulturforum and the Chamber Music Hall (Philharmonie) becomes a public square and also a vibrant landscape. In the beginning it is pure form (ornament), later it will become partially a wilderness, and rain, sun and its divers use will reset it to the form (ornament) again. This flow out of the form and back to the form is considered a symbol for the eventful history of this part of Berlin, which was characterized by formation and dissolution of space, structure and certainty in the 20th century.

 

MZB-04
Sectional perspective east-west

 

mzb-11-a

However the museum building is not left completely below the surface. In fact the museum space is connected with the square by its visitor tower and the atriums. The trees that are standing in those glass-coated atriums, can be seen from the street only with their tree tops. They show some strange and unusual organic growth habits to the pedestrians. The museum is an archive and an exhibition space. Like at a “Schaulager” (museum warehouse) the spatial and material aesthetic of warehouse and white cube are combined in its interior. All necessary building standards are reduced to their absolute minimum.

 

MZB-07a
Floor plan: level of the square / museum roof

The main entrance of the museum is located in the newly added tower, which also houses the visitor centre of the Kulturforum. As the only vertical element of the museum the tower forms a new urban landmark. Due to its positioning close to the Potsdamer Straße a spatial dialogue emerges, both with the ensemble of New National Gallery, Chamber Music Hall, St. Matthew Church and Picture Gallery as well as with the State Library on the opposite site.

 

MZB-09
Detail bas-relief

The roof of the museum is equipped with “sunk-in” bowls of different floor depth, in which the plant and animal life of the surroundings can settle down. Between the bowls the concrete roof is flat. Here spaces for paths emerge which can include sculptures and circular seats.

 

MZB-06
Principle of vegetation

Over time the vegetation grows out of the bowls over the roof surface and joins with the plants that grow out from the next bowl. In this way the technical building infrastructure receives the aura of colonisation by nature and larger areas emerge which are occupied by nature temporarily and which seem inaccessible, until they are reset to the geometric outline of the bowls by a dry summer or by gardening interventions. This also refers to Scharoun’s idea of “Landschaftlichkeit”, that opposes geometry and as well is a metaphor of utopia and freedom.

 

MZB-08
Diversification of the plants over time

The plants form habitats for animal species of the inner-city biotopes, like cicadas, grasshoppers and birds. Maybe also racoons, weasels and foxes from the nearby “Tiergarten” might change to the vegetation islands. Whereas the dynamic of the vegetation development is very slow on the shallow soil, it will be faster on the deeper soil and lead to a rapid change of vegetation patterns. Very dry summers will set back the vegetation development, and after it will unfold again.

 

MZB-05
Section east-west

On the site, between the Philharmonie and the National Library by Hans Scharoun, between the New National Gallery by Mies van der Rohe and the St. Matthew Church by Friedrich August Stüler, there is no space for another monument. The new extension is located in the center of the Kulturforum and offers on its roof a free and democratic space for spontaneous uses.

 

mzb-12

National Gallery and Philharmonie will stay the dominant representatives of the architecture of the 20th century within the city ensemble. The museum is built below the open space that has been developed and it forms a functional unit with the lower level of the National Gallery. It works as a crosslink. Besides his integrative function on the level of the square, it is providing underground connections to the other museums, the Philharmonie, the National Library and the underground car park.

MZB-10
mzb-13
Interior view of the entrance tower

 

MZB-14
The square offers sufficient space for the rapidly changing forms of public use. In addition to its function as municipal park it suitable for political manifestations, markets and aesthetic pratices of all kinds.

 


ProgramExtension for the Neue Nationalgalerie Berlin by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe
StatusCompetition, unbuild
LocationKulturforum Berlin, Germany
ClientStiftung Preussischer Kulturbesitz (Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation) Berlin
AreaTSA 27.500 m2
TeamIMKEWOELK with Prof. Martin Prominski, Landscape architecture, Hannover
and Prof. Michael Kleyer, Institute of Biology and Environmental Sciences, Universität Oldenburg
ServicesProgram and location analyses, strategic development, artistic concept, technical concept, design planning, visualisation
Date2015/16

TOP ↑

Museum des 20. Jahrhunderts, Berlin

Stadtlandschaft, fließender szenografischer Raum, Topografie als verbindendes Element, Kulturforum als Ensemble der Berliner Moderne

PROJEKTDATEN

MZB-01a
links: Hans Scharoun, Modell des Kulturforums, Blick von Norden, 1957
rechts: Alexandra Kehayoglou „Pastizal“ für Dries van Noten, 2014

In keiner anderen europäischen Stadt zeigte sich, so wie in Berlin – Aufbau und Zerstörung von baulicher Figur, Aufgabe des Raumes, Niemandsland und Stadtaneignung durch die Natur. Wo sonst, wenn nicht hier, könnte die von Hans Scharoun erdachte Stadtlandschaft weiterentwickelt werden?

 

MZB-03
Blick von der Philharmonie

Der Platz zwischen der Potsdamer Straße, Matthäikirche, Kulturforum und Kammermusiksaal (Philharmonie) bleibt ein Platz und wird doch zu einer lebendigen Landschaft. Anfangs reine Form [Ornament] wird er später in Teilen zur Wildnis und durch Regen und Sonne wieder auf die Form [Ornament] zurückgesetzt. Dieses Fließen aus der Form heraus und in die Form zurück stellt ein Sinnbild für die wechselvolle Geschichte dieses Teiles von Berlin dar, die im 20. Jahrhundert durch Bildung und Auflösung von Raum, Struktur und Gewissheiten geprägt war.

 

MZB-04
Schnittperspektive in Ost-West-Richtung

 

mzb-11-a
Jedoch wird das Museumsgebäude nicht vollständig unter der Oberfläche belassen. Vielmehr ist der Museumsraum durch seinen Besucherturm und die Lichthöfe mit dem Platz verbunden. Bäume, die in diesen mit Glas umkleideten Lichtgärten stehen, sind nur mit ihre Krone von der Straße aus zu sehen und zeigen dem Passanten merkwürdige, ungewohnte organische Wuchsformen. Das Museum ist ein Archiv und ein Ausstellungsort. Einem Schaulager ähnlich verbindet sich in seinen Innenräumen die räumliche und materielle Ästhetik von Depot und White Cube.

 

MZB-07a
Grundriss Platzebene / Museumsdach

Der neu hinzukommende Turm beinhaltet den Haupteingang des Museums und integriert das Besucherzentrum des Kulturforums. Als einziges vertikal wirksames Element des Museums, bildet er eine neue städtebauliche Akzentuierung. Durch seine Platzierung nahe der Potsdamer Straße, entsteht sowohl ein räumlicher Dialog mit dem Ensemble von Neuer Nationalgalerie, Kammermusiksaal, St.-Matthäus-Kirche und Gemäldegalerie, wie auch mit der gegenüber liegenden Staatsbibliothek.

 

MZB-09
Detail Flachrelief

Das Dach des Museums hat eingesenkte Schalen unterschiedlicher Bodentiefe, auf denen sich die Flora und Fauna der Umgebung einnisten kann. Zwischen den Schalen ist das Betondach flach und es entstehen Wegräume, die Skulpturen und kreisförmige Sitzgelegenheiten aufnehmen.

 

MZB-06
Vegetationsprinzip

Im Laufe der Zeit wächst die Vegetation aus den Schalen heraus über die Dachfläche und vereint sich mit den Pflanzen, die aus der nächsten Schale herauswachsen. So bekommt die technische Gebäudestruktur die Aura der Kolonisation durch die Natur und es entstehen größere Bereiche, die temporär von Natur besetzt und unzugänglich erscheinen, bis sie bei trockenem Sommer oder durch Pflegeeingriffe wieder auf die geometrischen Umrisse der Schalen zurückgesetzt werden. Bezug genommen wird dabei auf die Scharounsche Idee von „Landschaftlichkeit“, die sich der Geometrie entgegenstellt und eine Metapher von Utopie und Freiheit ist.

 

MZB-08
Diversifikation der Pflanzen über die Zeit

Die Pflanzen bilden Habitate für Tierarten der innerstädtischen Biotope, wie Zikaden, Heuschrecken und Vögel. Vielleicht wechseln auch Waschbär, Wiesel und Fuchs aus dem benachbarten Tiergarten in die Vegetationsinseln. Während die Dynamik der Vegetationsentwicklung auf den flachgründigen Böden sehr langsam ist, wird sie auf den tiefgründigen Böden schneller sein und zu raschem Wechsel in dem Vegetationsmustern führen. Sehr trockene Sommer werden die Vegetationsentwicklung immer wieder zurücksetzen und danach erneut entfalten.

 

MZB-05
Schnitt in Ost-West-Richtung

 

mzb-12

Im Stadtensemble bleiben Nationalgalerie und Philharmonie die dominanten Repräsentanten der Baukunst des 20. Jahrhunderts. Das Museum wird unter den entstehenden Freiraum gebaut und bildet mit dem ebenfalls unter der Erde liegenden Untergeschoss der Neuen Nationalgalerie eine funktionale Einheit. Es arbeitet als Vernetzer. Neben seiner integrativen Aufgaben auf der Platzebene, bietet er unter der Piazzetta des Kulturforums Verbindungen zu den anderen Museen an.

 

MZB-10

 

mzb-13
Innenansicht des Eingangsturms

 

MZB-14
Blick von der Platzebene nach Süden

 


ProgrammMuseum, bestehend aus zwei Gebäuden: der Neuen Nationalgalerie von Ludwig Mies van der Rohe und
dem neu zu entwickelnden Bau
StatusIdeenwettbewerb
OrtKulturforum Berlin
AuftraggeberStiftung Preussischer Kulturbesitz, Berlin
FlächeBGF 27.500 m2
TeamImke Woelk und Partner Architekten, Prof. Martin Prominski, Landschaftsarchitektur, Hannover,
Prof. Michael Kleyer, Landschaftsökologie, Oldenburg
LeistungenProgramm- und Standortanalyse, Strategische Entwicklung, künstlerisches Konzept, technisches Konzept,
Entwurfsplanung, Visualisierung
Datum2015/16

NACH OBEN ↑