“Gartenheim” (Garden home)

Potential analysis: Transformation of allotment gardens for permanent housing


PROJECT DATA
40x40-Imke-Woelk

“GARTENHEIM” (Garden home)

Berlin has more than 900 allotment garden areas with a total of 70.000 plots. Their total area of 3.000 ha take up about 3% of the city’s land area. No comparable metropolis has such a large amount of private gardens close to the city centre. These allotment gardens represent a cultural, social and ecological resource that has grown overtime. They could offer space for approx. 50.000 new households with up to 100.000 inhabitants.

It is proposed to enable these plots for permanent residential purpose without losing their “green” identity. The existing plot structure and the structure of buildings of the allotment gardens are maintained. Permanent housing is enabled only by minor amendments in spatial and infrastructural ways.

Three quarters of the allotments belong to the federal state of Berlin. Through an amendment of the regulatory framework permanent living space for everyone in an inner-city area with a private garden can be created. The allotment gardens that have been so far only temporarily and for leisure pursuits now would become new urban spaces and form a contrast to the classical multi-storey residential buildings.

On the footprint of the allotment gardens would emerge single- or two-storey units, which could provide accommodation for one up to four people. Future users are expected to rethink today’s standards of housing. In return the residents will be provided immediate access to garden, nature and neighbourhood. Through outsourcing of functions into central communal allotment buildings (sharing) additional space and resources can be saved. It is also conceivable that to a lesser extent public and commercial facilities could be accommodated in the allotment gardens. The selling or bartering of self-grown food can be a good starting point.

The allotment gardens would evolve to new city neighbourhoods with a rural character in addition to their function as recreation area. They would maintain their role as an important ecological element within the city despite their extension of use for permanent housing. With the proposed action the allotments would become visible to the public awareness. This could, on the other hand, protect the areas of the allotments from a complete repurposing with growing pressure on the real estate market and their function for the city climate could be stabilized.

 

gbb-10

 

Map of existing alloment sites, Berlin and its environment

 

gbb-11
Typologies in exististing allotment colonies, 2016

 

gbb-12
Site plan, showing integration of pioneer development for permanent use

 

gbb-19
Roof forms and permitted height of allotment buildings

 

gbb-13
Regulations on the dimensions of built structures on allotments plots

 

gbb-15
Density study

 

GBB-05
Layout variations and modules

 

gbb-16
Buildling type 5, 6 and 1 (from left to right)

 

gbb-17
Building type 1 with open and closed facade

 

gbb-18
Building type 2

 

GBB-03
Interior with multifunctional furnishing

 

GBB-08
Interior with wall-integrated furnishing

 


ProgramAffordable housing and its implementation into the "social city"
StatusBDA design forum
LocationBerlin, Germany
ServicesProgram and location analyses, strategic development, artistic concept, design planning, visualisation
Awards1st prize in the competition “changing city – city of ideas” – August 2014
ExhibitionContribution at the German Pavilion, Venice Architectural Biennale, 27.05. - 27.09. 2016
Contribution to the exhibition: “social housing Berlin”, 40/40, BDA Galerie Berlin, 23.09. – 24.10.13
Date2013

TOP ↑

Press article: Arch+
Press article: Detail Architekturportal

Gartenheim

Potentialanalyse: Ertüchtigung von Kleingartenanlagen für dauerhafte Wohnzwecke


PROJEKTDATEN
40x40-Imke-Woelk

Berlin verfügt über 900 Kleingartenanlagen mit insgesamt 70.000 Parzellen. Ihre Gesamtfläche von 3.000 ha nimmt rund 3% der Stadtfläche ein. Keine vergleichbare Metropole besitzt eine so große Anzahl an privat nutzbaren Gärten im unmittelbaren Einzugsbereich der Innenstadt. Sie bilden eine historisch gewachsene, kulturelle, soziale und ökologische Ressource und könnten Raum für ca. 50.000 neue Haushalte mit bis zu 100.000 Einwohnern bieten.

Es wird vorgeschlagen, diese Parzellen für dauerhafte Wohnzwecke zu ertüchtigen, ohne dass ihre grüne Identität verloren geht. Hierfür bleibt die vorhandene Parzellen- und Bebauungsstruktur der Laubenkolonien erhalten. Nur durch geringfügige Ergänzungen räumlicher und infrastruktureller Art wird permanentes Wohnen ermöglicht.

Drei Viertel der Kleingartenparzellen sind Eigentum des Landes Berlin. Durch eine Änderung der gesetzlichen Rahmenbedingungen kann permanenter Wohnraum mit einer privaten Gartenparzelle in innerstädtischer Lage für jedermann geschaffen werden. Die bisher nur temporär und zur Freizeit genutzten Kleingartenanlagen werden zu neuen urbanen Orten in der Stadt und bilden einen Gegenpol zum klassischen, mehrgeschossigen Wohnungsbau.

Auf der Grundfläche der Gartenlauben entstehen ein- bis zweigeschossige Einheiten, die Wohnraum für ein bis vier Personen bieten. Bei den künftigen Nutzern wird dabei ein Umdenken hinsichtlich der heute geltenden Wohnstandards vorausgesetzt. Im Gegenzug wird den Bewohnern unmittelbar Zugang zu Garten, Natur und einer Nachbarschaft geboten. Durch Auslagerung von Funktionen in zentrale Gemeinschaftslauben (Sharing) können weitere Flächen und Ressourcen eingespart werden. Auch wäre es denkbar, in geringem Maße öffentliche und gewerbliche Einrichtungen in den Gartenanlagen unterzubringen. Das Tauschen oder der Verkauf der selbst erzeugten Lebensmittel kann hierfür ein Ausgangspunkt sein.

Die Kleingärten würden sich neben ihrer Funktion als Freizeit- und Erholungsort zu neuartigen innerstädtisch-dörflichen Quartieren entwickeln. Sie blieben jedoch trotz der Nutzungserweiterung zum permanenten Wohnen ein wichtiges ökologisches Element der Stadt. Die vorgeschlagene Maßnahme würde die Gartenkolonien im öffentlichen Bewusstsein sichtbar werden lassen. Dies könnte bei zunehmendem Druck auf den Immobilienmarkt die Flächen der Gartenkolonien vor einer kompletten Umwidmung schützen und Ihre wichtige Funktion für das Stadtklima stabilisieren.

 

gbb-10
Standortkarte der vorhandenen Kleingartenanlagen, Berlin und Umland

 

gbb-11
Typologien in bestehenden Kolonien, 2016

 

gbb-12
Lageplan mit integrierter Pionierbebauung zur permanenten Nutzung

 

gbb-19
Erlaubte Dachformen und Höhe der Lauben

 

gbb-13
Vorschriften über Größe und Bebauung der Laubenparzellen

 

gbb-15
Dichtestudie

 

GBB-05
Grundrissvariationen und Module

 

gbb-16
Gebäudetypen 5, 6 und 1 (von links nach rechts)

 

gbb-17
Gebäudetyp 1 mit offener und geschlossener Fassade

 

gbb-18
Gebäudetyp 2

 

GBB-03
Interieur mit multifunktionalem Mobiliar

 

GBB-08
Interieur mit wandorientiertem Mobiliar

 


ProgrammGünstiger Wohnraum und seine Implementierung in die soziale Stadt
StatusBDA Entwurfsforum
OrtBerlin, Deutschland
LeistungenProgrammanalyse, Strategische Entwicklung, künstlerisches Konzept, Entwurf, Visualisierung
Auszeichnung1. Preis im Wettbewerb “Stadt im Wandel – Stadt der Ideen” – August 2014
AusstellungBeitrag im Deutschen Pavillon der Architekturbiennale Venedig, 27.05. - 27.09. 2016
Beitrag in der Ausstellung: "Sozialer Wohnungsbau Berlin", 40/40, BDA Galerie Berlin, 23.09. - 24.10.13
Datum2013

 Presseartikel: Arch+
 Presseartikel: Detail Architekturportal

NACH OBEN ↑